Day 10: Up one pound…the world is going to end

Weighed in today was 212.4 lbs.

That puts me up about a pound from yesterday. I’m not to worried about it, but my weight has been fluctuating kinda weird. And by fluctuating it’s been around the 1 pound range here and then, so I ain’t to worried about it.

Yesterday I posted a link to TF’s blog. The post was about mastering the art of seasoning, which I think is important when it comes to cooking up some good eats.

So what am I going to touch base on today…not that.

After reading that post and being introduced to Jules Clancy’s beef and broc stir fry recipe, I felt inspired to whip it up.

So I got home and scoped out my inventory of ingredients.

Ground beef…uh, I no have…guess I’ll use some flank steak.

Broccoli…don’t have either…WTF?…guess frozen Walmart brand stir fry medley will do.

Soy sauce…MONEY

Dried chili flakes….hmmm

I pause at the red chili flakes beacuse…Jules seems to be British or something. British people tend to have diff names for stuff.

Here’s where you’ll probably look at me and be like…dude Chili flakes and Red Pepper flakes are the same shit…true…but there’s also a different red pepper flake some people aren’t familiar with and it’s prominent in Korean cooking called…red pepper flakes.

How do you determine the different between the two?

One looks like the stuff you see at pizza places that you sprinkle on…wait for it…pizza.

The Korean variety doesn’t have the white little seeds in it and has a different taste.

So my problem is…I have both.

To make a long story short…Stir fry = Asian, Korean = Asian, Choice = Korean red pepper flakes. done.

Maybe next time I’ll try the other red flakes.

And final ingredient…some pinto beans.

Here’s a little photo…uh…essay? of everything coming together.

First the ingredients.

My soy sauce may look different than what can be normally found in grocery stores, but it’s pretty much the same stuff. And before you go….ahhh look at those beer bottles in the back…this fool is cheating…I wish…those were from my cheat day…I save the bottles for brewing.

Next is the meat frying up.

Before I threw the meat in, I poured about a tablespoon of olive oil in there.

Here’s a lil tip for stir frying. If you want your meat to get a nice caramelized burn, you’ll want to go medium high heat. The meat tends to release some liquid. If the heat ii to low, it just like boils in it’s juices. If you have it a nice high temp it’ll burn off and your meat will fry.

If it looks like it’s too much, pull the wok or whatever your using off the burner and turn it down a bit.

Now you add the veggies.

stir it up. cover and let it cook the veggies for a bit.

After about a min or two…I like to add a lil bit of soy, so the meat and veggies and steam and cook with some flava.

Grab one of the veggies and take a bit. If its cooked through, it’s time to add the rest of the ingredients and mix like so.

I drained my pinto beans and added some kosher salt to them to add some flava. After that I popped them in the microwave to warm them up. Then I spooned some on a plate and put the stir fry on top.

Boom…dinner in about 20 min.

Putting the stirfry on top of the beans is a good move. The juices from the stirfry get on the beans and give them a good flavor, which is refreshing. Giving canned beans good flavor other than “beans out of a can” can be a little challenging. This has that covered.

Watch out how much red pepper you put on your dish, cause it can get spicy.

Over all it was pretty tasty and I am deff going to experiment with my next try. Next time I’m going to saute some garlic prior to adding the meat. And like most stir fry’s I’m going to cook the protein and veggies separately, then combine for final seasoning.

Now get out there and cook some ish and shoot some recipes my way, so I can cook those up too.

Links:
Tim Ferriss
The 4-Hour Body

This entry was posted in 4HB. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 10: Up one pound…the world is going to end

  1. Nick Momrik says:

    That looks tasty! I’m going to have to give it a try.

    • Thomas says:

      It was tasty!

      I think I out a lil too much red pepper in it though, cause it was a bit on the spicy side.

Leave a Reply

